Ch. 3.3 – Time to be Brave

On the night of our marriage, we had..fun. I’ll leave it at that!
Everything seemed to be going great eve since that day.   A little while later, I found out I was pregnant with our first child.  I told Isaac, and he was ecstatic.

“I can’t believe it!  I’m going to be a daddy? Oh gosh, what if I’m not good enough?  What if I make a horrible father!? Oh God, oh God.  I gotta go to the bookstore and buy baby books.  I’ll be back later, love.”  And with that, he left.  I couldn’t help but laugh.  He’s so adorable in his cowardly way.

Mom LOVED Isaac and the fact that we were expecting.  She said, “Sadie, honey, you couldn’t have chosen a better person for yourself.  I just know he’ll take care of you after I’m long and gone.  That time will be here before you know it, and I wanted to make sure you would carry on our family before I left.”  “Mom, don’t be silly!  You’re going to be here forever!”  “Oh no I won’t, baby girl.  I miss your daddy.  One day soon, I’ll be able to see him again.”

It was almost as if she knew.  I told you.  She always knows.  A couple nights later, she left this world to be with Daddy.  I was crushed, just like when Dad died.  We had service for her, just  like Dad.  Akia came, but we didn’t speak.  I could tell by the look in his eye something was wrong.  He wasn’t my brother.  He had become something different altogether.   I just couldn’t tell what.

Time seemed to fly after that.  I grew bigger and bigger until one day I felt the pangs of labor.  I tell ya, it’s nothing like I’ve ever felt before.  I was out in the yard working on my garden when it happened.

“Oh, God.  Oh, God,” Isaac said when he came outside, “What do I do? Uhm..breathe, honey!  It’s going to be okay!” Then, he turned around and started to take off running. “TAKE ME TO THE HOSPITAL YOU IDIOT!”  That definitely got his attention.  He was too afraid to drive because he was so nervous, so he called the cab.  I didn’t think I was going to make it with as long as we had to wait for the darn thing.  I swear, I married a dolt.  We got home 14 hours later with our brand new baby girl, Gail.  Just a plain and simple name.  No stupid weird names from other places with these weird meanings.  Just Gail.  She is pretty, though, I have to admit.

She was such a moody baby.  She would always cry no matter if she needed anything or not.  She just cried to cry, I think.  One night, however, she just stopped crying.  Out of nowhere.  She was laughing.  I think she has gone insane, to be honest.

After a few months of me forgetting to feed her and change her, and with Isaac making sure she was well taken care of, I decided to be brave.  It was past time to suck up my fears and go see Akia.  If I could go through labor, I could face my brother and find out just what the hell his problem was.

I got read to go to his house and started for the door.  However, the doorbell rang.  I opened the door, and found my niece there.  She was practically all grown up!  Too bad she turned out looking like her mother.  I never thought she was that pretty.  “What’s wrong, dear?”  She just burst into tears.  I hugged her and said, “Come on, honey, let’s get you inside.”  I sat her down at the couch and made her some hot tea.  I brought it to her and sat at the couch across from her.  Soon, she calmed down enough to speak.

“Daddy’s in the hospital.”  “What!?  What happened? Is he okay?”  “You don’t understand, Aunt Sadiah.  He’s not at that kind of hospital.  He’s at a mental hospital.”  Oh, shit.. I took a deep breath.  “He’s been there for a few months now, Aunt Sadiah.  He’s not doing too well.  I was told by Mom not to tell you, but I just couldn’t bear it anymore.  You have a right to know and to go see him.”  “Why did she not want me to know?”  “Because she wanted everyone to believe that everything was just fine, when it’s not.”  “Well thank you for telling me dear.  I think it’s time for you to go on home.  I’m going to go see my brother.”  If I can be that brave.  She left.

The next day, I decided I needed to go see him.  So that really wasn’t him that was so mean to me!  I go to the building.  It wasn’t very intimidating looking.  It looked more like a house from the outside.  I walked in, and was greeted by Dr. Noal.  I had called ahead of time, to ensure that he was able to have visitors.

“Ah, Mrs. Throttle.  It’s such a pleasure to finally meet you!  I have heard so many things about you.  Please, please come in and have a seat.  We’ll talk before going in to see Akia.”  “What happened to my brother, Doctor?”  “Well, Mrs. Throttle-” “Sadiah, please.”  “Alright, Sadiah.  After your brother moved out, he and his wife had many problems.  Their marriage was falling apart.  Akia’s plan was to divorce his wife, gain custody of the two kids, and move back in with you and your parents.  However, your father died.  That changed everything.”  “Why?  He still could have followed through with his plan!”  “Yes, he could have, but something in his brain snapped.  He had a meltdown.  He couldn’t cope with his failing marriage, taking care of two kids, trying to hold up the image that everything was going smoothly, and your father passing away.”   “Well that explains why he snapped at me at the funeral.”  “Yes.  Now that you understand what is going on, I will tell you that we are making progress.  He is on medication that is helping him not be so bitter and angry, but it does have side effects.  It makes him age much quicker than normal.”  Just then, I heard crying from a room beside us.  I looked through the door that I had not realized until then.

I saw an elderly man sobbing and pacing back and forth.  It broke my heart in two.  He looked just like Dad.  Wait a minute…”Is that my brother?”  She smiled.  “Yes, Sadiah, that is Akia.  Are you ready to see him?”  I slowly nodded.  Was I ready for this?  I hope so.  I walked through the door and rushed to see him.  I gave him a hug while crying.

“Sadie!  Oh, God, I thought I would never see you again!  Look at you!  How are you, my darling sister?  I hope you forgive me after everything that I have said to you.”  “Of course, are you daft?  I love you, Akia.  That will never change.  You are my brother.”

We talked for a couple more hours, and then I went back home.  I gave Gail a big hug and kiss, then went upstairs with my lovely husband.  I never want to take my family for granted, and I never want to have a nervous break down like Akia.  I’m just glad that he’s happy now.

Needless to say, I was expecting again.  We were both hoping for a little boy to balance out our family.  During my pregnancy, we celebrated Gail’s birthday.  It was very small- just the three of us.  But it seemed perfect.  She aged beautifully.

She has my hair and my eyes.  I love it!  After that, I went into labor again.  Isaac was a bit more confidant this time around, and drove us himself to the hospital.  However, 20 hours later, we were both exhausted and took a cab home.  We did not get a little boy like we wanted, but we are happy and have our hands full!  I would like for you to meet

Halima,

Jahzara,

and Kade.

I think I can pretty much kiss my sleep good-bye.

Author’s Notes:

1. Four down.  One to go! (I hope just one more next time!  I don’t think I could handle another set of triplets!!)

2.  Once they’re all teenagers, I’m going to try to split them until into 2 groups and do a chapter for each group so you’ll see more of their personalities.  I think you’ll like them, and have a hard time choosing an heir/heiress this time!

Leave a Reply

